Ms Wafa Sultan

Most of us US citizens have heard the rhetoric about Muslims and how disgraceful their Islamic religion is, but I recently watched a YouTube video which had a visceral impact on me like none other.

It was a presentation by Ms Wafa Sultan, who was born and spent the first three decades of her life as a Syrian citizen.  Her short story is both moving and unnerving.

I spend a lot of time complaining about what I believe is evidence that the USA is sliding down a slippery slope toward more ignorance, less freedom and bankruptcy, but because I listened to Sultan’s history, I had to remind myself that we’ve got a lot of sliding to go before we slide back into the seventh century.

At the same time, her story makes me even more committed to championing our countries founding principles that have made the United States of American the most unique experiment in freedom in the history of the planet.

See if you don’t agree.

Wafa Sultan

Leave a Reply

